Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator

Conservation areas in Wyre

We choose conservation areas based on their special architectural features or historical interest and character.

The emphasis for conservation areas is to ensure local character is preserved and enhanced and not diminished by change. Conservation areas provide a much broader protection than individually listed buildings, as all features within a conservation area are recognised as part of its character, and therefore protected.

Conservation areas are provided for by the Planning (Listed Building and Conservation Area) Act 1990. Current planning policy/guidance regarding conservation is given in the National Planning Policy Framework (NPPF), the  National Planning Practice Guidance (NPPG),  and the Adopted Local Plan

In Wyre there are seven conservation areas. Conservation area appraisals are used to research and record the special interest and unique characteristics of existing and proposed conservation areas, so their reason for designation can be understood. Conservation area appraisals can act as justification for planning application decisions and further conservation policies, management and protection of an area.

Boundaries of Wyre Council’s conservation areas are shown on Lancashire County Council’s MARIO website (interactive map). Select the conservation area layer, under ‘Countryside, Environment and Waste’ maps.

For any enquiries regarding conservation, please contact the planning team at:

You can view the extent of the boundaries of the conservation areas and the related appraisals below.

Calder Vale

You can download the following Calder Vale PDFs:


You can download the following Churchtown PDFs:

Lower Dolphinholme

You can download the following Lower Dolphinholme PDFs:


You can download the following Fleetwood PDFs:


You can download the following Garstang PDFs:


You can download the following Poulton-le-Fylde PDFs:


You can download the following Scorton PDFs:

Update cookies preferences