Cookie Consent by

Wyre’s Mayor appointed

The mayor s consort mr richard robinson chief executive of wyre council rebecca huddleston the mayor of wyre cllr julie robinson

Wyre Council has appointed Councillor Julie Robinson as Mayor of Wyre for 2023/24. Councillor Sue Catterall has also been appointed as Deputy Mayor.

This will be Cllr Robinson’s second year serving as Mayor and she looks forward to continuing her civic duties and raising funds for her chosen charities.

Councillor Julie Robinson has served on Hambleton Parish Council for the past 29 years, she became a ward councillor for Hambleton and Stalmine in 2007 and has served on numerous committees, the last as the Chairman of the Licensing Committee. Most recently she was appointed as Wyre Council’s Mental Health Champion in 2021.

At the annual meeting of the Council last night, Thursday 18 May, Rebecca Huddleston, Chief Executive of Wyre Council commented,

“Councillor Julie Robinson has shown tremendous dedication as Mayor for 2022/23. She has attended 160 Mayoral engagements and organised 10 hugely successful fundraising events. Her commitment to serving the borough and helping residents cannot be underestimated. We would like to thank Julie for her service and are very pleased that she can continue her excellent work into next year.”

The Mayor opened the meeting with a ceremonial presentation of the prestigious Sheraton Trophy to this year’s winner, Tayla-Daisy Hoyle, an inspiring young role model from the borough who has shown remarkable positivity since her alopecia diagnosis and now works hard to promote body positivity and raise awareness of the condition.

Tayla-Daisy proves to be a wonderful inspiration to others and she has featured in a documentary to raise awareness about the condition, has raised £650 for the Little Princess Trust; a charity that help children who lose their hair, and she will be travelling to Ghana this July on an International project to build a school for the local children there.

During the meeting the Mayor also thanked the outgoing Youth Mayor Hannah Mullin and announced the appointment of Zachary Shaw as the newly appointed Youth Mayor for Wyre 2023/24. The role of Youth Mayor was created jointly by Wyre Council and Lancashire County Council to help identify the needs of young people and what's important to them.


Published: 19th May 2023