Cookie Consent by

Council structure

Officers of the council

The council employs staff to give advice, implement its decisions and to manage the day-to-day delivery of council services. Council employees are known as "officers" and they are led by the Chief Executive supported by three directors. 

Chief Executive 

Rebecca Huddleston is the Chief Executive. She is the principal policy advisor to the council and is the Returning Officer whenever there is an election. She has direct management responsibility for the council's three Corporate Directors.

Corporate Directors

Mark Billington is the Corporate Director for Environment and has management responsibility for engineering, environmental health and community safety, built environment, street scene, parks and open spaces and coast and countryside.

Clare James is the Corporate Director for Resources and has management responsibility for finance, governance, business support and the contact centre

Marianne Hesketh is the Corporate Director for Communities and has management responsibility for housing and community services, planning and regeneration, ICT and digital and commercial services.

The Council Constitution

The constitution sets out how the council operates, how decisions are made and the procedures which are followed to ensure that these are efficient, transparent and accountable to local people. Please view it here.