Your Wyre Online

In Your Area

Public rights of way

The public paths in Wyre fall into two geographical areas, the area known as the urban core, lying west of the Wyre Estuary and the area known as the rural area, lying east of the estuary.

The urban core is managed and maintained by Wyre Council and contains the communities of Fleetwood, Cleveleys, Thornton and Poulton-le-Fylde.

The rural area is managed and maintained by Lancashire County Council and contains the communities of Preesall and Knott End, Stalmine, Hambleton, Pilling, Out Rawcliffe, Great Eccleston, Inskip, Garstang, Bilsborrow and Myerscough, St Michaels, Catterall, Claughton-on-Brock, Bleasdale, Forton, Cabus and Scorton.

Report a problem on a footpath 

If  you encounter any problems with a route:

Please be as specific as possible, giving details of:

  • exact location, including grid reference if possible
  • the walk which you were following and the information you were using, such as the map and leaflet 
  • the date of the walk and the weather conditions
  • the nature of the problem

Maintenance normally extends to the surface of the path, the signposting and the construction and care of bridges. Landowners and farmers are usually responsible for removal of overhanging vegetation and the erection of stiles and gates.

Further information

Contact us

For further information and advice please contact us

Rate this page

Give us your feedback on this page!

Council Services