Wyre Council

Frequently Asked Questions: Community and living

Click a question to reveal the answer.

Community and living FAQs

Q: What is the definition of a major emergency?

Q: What is the council's role in a major emergency?

Q: What should I do in a major emergency?

Q: What is the Civil Contingencies Act?


What is the Civil Contingencies Act?

The purpose of the Civil Contingencies Act 2004 (CCA) is to deliver a single framework for civil protection in the United Kingdom. The legislation that previously governed emergency planning had its roots in civil defence and was developed at the end of World War 2. The CCA was modernised to deliver a new framework to meet the challenges of the 21st Century.

The Act identifies Category 1 responders (police, fire, ambulance, Maritime and Coastguard Agency, local authorities, Environment Agency) and Category 2 responders (utilities, railway and airport operators, harbour authorities and the Health and Safety Executive (HSE).

Category 1 responders are core organisations which are likely to be involved in dealing with most incidents. Category 2 responders are key co-operating bodies which are less likely to be involved with the heart of planning work, but will be heavily involved in incidents which affect their particular sector.

The Act places a broad range of civil protection duties on Category 1 responders to ensure that they carry out the full spectrum of civil protection activities. These duties include:

  • Risk assessment
  • Emergency planning
  • Business Continuity Management (BCM)
  • Warning and informing
  • Information sharing & co-operation
  • Promotion of BCM to the local community (local authority duty only)

Category 2 responders have a duty to co-operate and share information with Category 1 responders to ensure that arrangements are established for better communication, co-operation and information sharing to enhance the planning process.

Q: What is the Community Risk Register?

Q: What type of emergencies does the council plan for?